Liesl and Co. Maritime tops

sam_7477

I wasn’t really looking out for patterns when I went to Kirsty’s Handmade Fair last year but this little top had wardrobe staple written all over it. The design is similar to a Whistles jersey top that I wear all the time and looked like the sort of pattern I’d want to make again and again.

sam_7481

Minimal changes were made to the pattern. I sewed a size 8 and just had to do my usual short bodice adjustment. The fit is just right, not too loose or tight. I’m not a fan of clingy tops nowadays. There is some excess fabric near the bust and underarm area, something another blogger has mentioned but it’s not a deal breaker.

sam_7480

What I love about this pattern is the boat neckline, knit facing and side vents. The knit facing is interfaced so is pretty stable and the seam allowance increases at the vent which makes for a nice neat finish.

Source: Liesl and co

I used the lightning stitch on my sewing machine to sew up the top and I now prefer this to regular zig zag. The stitches are tighter so the stitching doesn’t show through. I also used it to do the hems and I really like how it has come out. No tunnelling and if your thread is a good match for your fabric, it’s hardly noticeable.

sam_7463

I was so keen on this pattern, I made another straightaway in this summery blue stripe from Fabworks. As the knit was quite fine, I left out the side vents. I also took a tiny wedge from the shoulder seam to get rid of some of the excess fabric in the upper bodice. I love stripes and this top will definitely get a lot of wear.

sam_7466

 

This entry was posted in sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liesl and Co. Maritime tops

  1. Kathryn says:

    These are great, I’m sure you’ll get so much wear from them! I really like the boatneck and the hem. I’ve never done a facing on knit fabric before but it looks like such a nice finish.

    • I was surprised at how neat the facing turned out. I find neck bands can be a bit hit and miss. It’s interfaced too so this prevents the neckline stretching out.

Leave a comment