Mathilde blouse

sam_7512The Mathilde blouse is one of my favourite patterns from Tilly and the Buttons. I just love the tucks and way it fastens at the back with a cute row of buttons. And you can also make a feature of the yoke by adding some piping. Who doesn’t love a bit of piping!

I began making this last spring and finished only last week. Whilst I enjoyed sewing this pattern, progress was very stop start. It’s not a quick sew as there are a lot of steps and I had to tweak the pattern due to a lack of fabric. I was also so wary of sewing the tucks that I procrastinated for a few months and allowed myself to get waylaid by other projects.

sam_7513

I used a treasured cotton poplin from Fabrics Galore and managed to squeeze my blouse out of one metre of fabric, hence the short sleeves. I found the cuffs a little tight probably because they are supposed to sit lower down the arm and not the bicep. If I was making another short sleeved version, I’d make the cuff wider. I had planned to sew slimmed down sleeves as per this earlier iteration but ran out of fabric. However, the fabric is quite crisp, so it’s probably just as well.

Apart from shortening the sleeves, I also lowered the front neckline slightly as it sat a bit high for my tastes. I altered the facing to match and did my usual short bodice adjustment. Sewing up was pretty straightforward. The tucks weren’t as tricky as I feared and the instruction booklet is really clear. I just had to re-do one of the tucks as the perfectionist in me wanted them to be absolutely uniform and parallel.

sam_7510

I didn’t bother with sewing buttonholes as the neck is wide enough for me to get my head through. I’m so chuffed I was able to use these vintage teal buttons from my stash. I have a very large button collection but never sew anything needing buttons! For my next iteration, I’ll deepen the yoke slightly and start with the right amount of fabric.

sam_7515

I think this is the cutest blouse and it’s my current favourite make. I can’t wait for the weather to warm up so I can wear it. It’s a shame to cover those buttons under lots of layers. Roll on spring.

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mathilde blouse

  1. Kathryn says:

    This is lovely! I really like the pleats on this pattern and the buttons you’ve chosen. Yes, I’m ready to get out my spring wardrobe too!

  2. Lynsey Welch says:

    Lovely top, I love this pattern too. The short sleeves are lovely and I love the piping. I lowered the neckline on mine too. Hopefully Spring will be warm so you can show it off.

  3. Julie says:

    It’s beautiful. I agree that those buttons need to be shown off, so roll on non cardigan weather!

Leave a Reply

