Simplicity 1366 by Cynthia Rowley

I had high expectations for this popular Cynthia Rowley pattern and it’s been on my to-sew list for ages. It’s a simple loose fitting woven top that’s easy to fit and quick to sew. There are no darts and the wide neckline means no closures either. I love the dropped shoulders and boat neckline.

I cut a side 12 but found it a little too loose for my tastes so I used a 2cm seam allowance on the side seams and sleeves. It’s still too roomy so I’ll sew a size 10 next time round. I didn’t follow the instructions to sew the sleeves in flat as I was on auto pilot and did the usual easing in method. I’ll try the flat construction method next time as this looks much faster. I’ve not seen this method used on wovens, but I guess the looser fit allows for this.

The only tricky bit was sewing in the binding of the neckline. It’s very narrow so I’ll use a 0.5 cm seam allowance next time which will make the binding wider. I also found the sleeves way too long so I took 3 cms off.  I folded the sleeve hem up by 3 cms to shorten them further. I’m still not sure about them as I think they look a bit too wide for the length of the top.  Next time I will lengthen the top by about 2-3 inches as I think this would look better with elbow length sleeves. 

Some of you might recognise the crepe from my GBSB shift dress. I love the print and was fortunate to have enough left over for a top. This was not quite the TNT pattern I was hoping for but I’m nearly there. 

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simplicity 1366 by Cynthia Rowley

  1. Emily says:

    Lovely too. I’m a big fan of the 1366. I use it as a base for a lot of my pattern hacks!

  2. Lynsey Jane says:

    This looks a great pattern and the fabric is lovely. Sometimes simple is better.

  3. It’s a lovely top, I’ve had this and quite a few other Cynthia Rowley patterns on my list for ages, I really must get around to sewing one! Thanks for the review!

  4. Kathryn says:

    I did recognize this fabric, it’s so lovely! I have been admiring this pattern too, the dropped shoulders and simple shape. Yours looks lovely!

  5. It’s from Walthamstow market!

Leave a Reply

