Toaster sweater 2

sam_7526

There’s nothing like compiling a #2017makenine list to kick start your sewing mojo. I’ve made two from my list already! I fell for the Toaster sweater 2 as soon as it was released and from what I’ve seen on Instagram, so have many other sewists. The high-low hem, funnel neck and side vent details are so contemporary and chic.

sam_7518The hardest thing was finding the right kind of fabric. Sweater knits are hard to come by in the UK and I’m averse to knits with a high poly content as they never wash well. Fortunately I stumbled across this cotton jersey in the John Lewis sale. It has a tight knit and the wrong side looks and feels like brushed cotton. I wish I’d bought more as it would have been perfect for a Driftless cardigan, also on my #makenine list.

sam_7522

Sewing up was a doddle. The instructions are really clear and the way in which the hem is finished with a mitred corner is genious and makes for a professional looking finish. I used a zig zag stitch to finish the hems as my twin needle stitching kept skipping stitches.

sam_7521

I sewed right side up as I prefer how the stitching looks this way. To guide my stitching, I chalked my stitch lines at the vents and tacked where I needed to pivot my needle.  Before I did this, I overlocked the vents and hem. My overlocker did not like my stretchy fabric so I used a narrow strip of interfacing to give it a bit of stability. I hand sewed the neck line facing rather than stitching in the ditch as there would be less room for error doing it this way.

The only change I made was to shorten the sleeves by 2 inches as they extended way beyond my wrists. I made no changes to the bodice for once as the length looked fine to me. The side vent is cut very high and makes the back swing out so I’ll probably wear this with a camisole. Next time I’ll either lengthen the top slightly or shorten the vent so that the back sits closer to the body.

sam_7530

I rarely sew solids and I’m loving the charcoal grey. It’ll go with most of my work wardrobe and I can see this being in heavy rotation. I’m definitely going to make more of these sweaters if I can source the right fabric. Last year I went crazy sewing lots of Linden sweatshirts. This year I think it’ll be Toaster sweaters.

 

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Toaster sweater 2

  1. Kathryn says:

    This looks great! Your hem looks really neat & crisp and the neckline is lovely. I added about 1″ to the length but then had to make the hem band & cuffs a bit shorter due to lack of fabric which worked out fine for me, otherwise I think the sleeved would have been too long. I’m already planning my second toaster too!

  2. Perfect. colour, shape, everything!

Leave a Reply

