Top five hits of 2016

I’ve sewn fewer items than last year but I’ve had a good hit rate with only one dud. Pattern of the year has to be the Linden sweatshirt. I’ve sewn five this year including one for my sister. I’ve enjoyed my sewing more this year. This was down to making patterns that were relatively simple to fit, easy to sew and quick to make like Linden and Bettine. Maybe I’ve not stretched myself as much but I’m not going to beat myself up about that. Sewing should be fun.

So in no particular order, here’s my round up of my top 5 hits.

Bicycle Linden Sweatshirt

SAM_6579

My favourite Linden is this marl grey version but I’m putting this version in my top five as this is the one I wear most weekends. If it’s not in the laundry, I’m probably wearing it. I can’t stop making this pattern and don’t know what I wore before I introduced Lindens to my wardrobe.

Fluffy clouds Bettine dress

SAM_7118

This pattern is so easy to whiz up and the finished dress is akin to wearing secret pyjamas. I made a jersey version of this dress and it’s so comfortable. It’s the perfect casual dress for day trips and mini breaks.

Mimi blouse

SAM_6519

This is a pattern from Tilly’s Love at first stitch book.  I wanted to make it as soon as I bought it. This was probably the most complicated pattern I sewed this year. There were quite a few pattern pieces and lots of processes but I found it a really fun pattern to sew. I also learnt how to sew button holes on my machine, something I’ve been meaning to master for ages. I wear this blouse a lot, it’s great for layering under cardigans and I wear ALOT of cardis.

Jackson Pollock peplum top

20161002_1229321-2

As soon as this pattern came out from In the folds, it jumped to the top of my to-sew list. The fabric is a precious liberty lawn I’d been hoarding in my stash. Although the top does make me look like I’m expecting – ha ha, I love the print and the frilly peplum. I wore this on holiday and loved wearing it.

Sewing Bee casual trousers

SAM_7108

Another easy to sew pattern, these pull on trousers are so comfy and perfect for lounging around the house. I’m chuffed with the pattern matching as the viscose had a tendency to shift around. These are my favourite summer trousers.

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top five hits of 2016

  1. tassadit says:

    Your Mimi blouse is absolutely GORGEOUS!

  2. Thimberlina says:

    Great top 5! I especially like to trousers – top pattern matching!

Leave a Reply

