In the folds Peplum top

20161002_1229321-2

The moment this pattern popped up on my Instagram feed, it elbowed its way straight to the top of my sewing queue. I had an October holiday to Seville coming up and this top looked perfect for the 30 degree heat. I actually finished it the day before my flight!

20161006_151005

The In the folds peplum top is a free pdf pattern available from the Peppermint magazine web site. I love the ruffles on the peplum and the loose breezy design is perfect for hot weather. The pattern is layered which means you can select the size you want and all the other lines magically disappear. I’ve not come across this before and it’s brilliant, no need to concentrate on cutting the right size as there is only one!

sam_7402

The pattern and instructions were easy to follow. However, I went off-piste and didn’t follow the instructions. You’re supposed to sew the binding together and attach it to the neckline working out from the back V. I attached from the front and had difficulty joining the binding to form a point at the back. I had to do a bit of hand stitching to fix it and will follow the instructions TO THE LETTER next time. The armholes are also finished with bias binding so whilst this pattern has few pieces, it’s not a quick sew.

sam_7438

But don’t let this put you off, it’s a great little top and I will definitely be making more. I cut out a size D and added some small darts at the bust line to do away with the gaping at the armholes. Maybe a smaller size would rectify this? The top has a lot of volume as the side seams flare out slightly. I do like the volume but might taper the side seams to reduce it a little for my next iteration. I plan to use some delicious navy gingham gauze from Merchant and Mills.

The splatter print fabric is soooo pretty. It’s a Liberty tana lawn from my stash. I threw caution to the wind and cut into it without doing a toile, hence the need for the darts. But my gamble paid off and I had a lovely top to wear on holiday.

 

This entry was posted in handmade, Liberty, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the folds Peplum top

  1. Very pretty, it’s a great top.

  2. Nilla says:

    I love both the fabric and the pattern. I might just have to make one myself…

Leave a Reply

