Grey marl Linden v.4

SAM_7147Before I bought the Linden pattern, I did not own one sweatshirt. But now that I’ve made three (one being a dud), I don’t know how I survived without this wardrobe staple. I wear my bicycle print Linden most weekends and was most put out that I couldn’t take it on a recent holiday as it was in the laundry.

SAM_7149Isn’t this grey marl the most delicious fabric? I’ve been on the lookout for quality loopback jersey for another Linden and found this gorgeous stuff on Goldhawk Road. I then found the perfect ribbing to match from The Man Outside Sainsburys. It’s hard finding the right shade so I was made up.

SAM_7146

The main changes I made were to the neckband and cuffs. To make the neckline slightly wider, I added 1cm to the width and used a 1cm seam allowance. I also took off 1cm from the cuff ribbing and sewed a 1cm seam allowance. Having sewn Lindens a few times now, I think I will reduce the seam allowance to 1cm on my pattern to reduce bulk and overlock all seams before sewing on the machine. I like to sew on my machine for more control.

SAM_7148

I hand sewed some Liberty bias binding to the back. No more putting on clothes back to front! It’s the small details like this that make hand made garments so special.

SAM_7150

This is my favourite Linden to date and fulfils the brief I set myself after Me Made May to sew more solids. I can see this being in heavy rotation. I’ve also got enough to make another Linden as the fabric was extra wide. Not bad going to get 2 sweatshirts out of 1.5 metres of fabric.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grey marl Linden v.4

  1. Mirce75 says:

    It’s lovely – very classy

  2. Lovely sweatshirt, a classic. Good idea to mark the back with bias.

  3. So delicious! I really like the splash of Liberty at the back neckline. I made a Linden yesterday and used self-fabric for the neck band. It didn’t seem quite big enough to fit the neck hole and now looks a little puckered. Did yours fit as drafted?

    • I think you might get puckering when using self fabric for the neckline if it isn’t stretchy enough. Try pressing out the puckers. I made a blue Linden using self fabric for the neckband and there was a little puckering but it pressed out ok.

  4. Lynsey Welch says:

    Fab sweatshirt, I could with some more solids in my wardrobe and the Linden looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

