GBSB casual trousers

 

SAM_7108On top of wearing an item of handmade everyday in May, I challenged myself to make a pair of trousers by the end of the month. I confess I had intended to make a Burda pattern but the toile was an abomination and required far too many changes. So for plan B, I went with this easy pattern which I finished just before the last day of May, yay!

SAM_7100

It’s the trouser part of the jump suit from the Great British Sewing Bee’s Fashion with Fabric book. Same pattern with just a lower cutting line for the waist. The trousers were a straightforward sew and I made very few changes to the pattern. I pegged the trousers too much, so they’re a bit tight round my calves and will stick to the original stitch line next time. I eyeballed the pattern placement and it looks great from the front but was a bit tardy with the back. But it’s at the back so out of sight and mind!

SAM_7109

These trousers were a quick sew and I love this pull on elasticated style. Funny how tastes change. I used to associate elasticated trousers with frumpsville, polyester and beige.

SAM_7110

I wanted a light pair of holiday trousers and used this graphic print viscose from my stash. They are perfect holiday wear and the only thing missing from them are pockets. I’m glad I got round to sewing this pattern as it’s been on my to sew list since I got the book last year. It’s now a TNT. Who knew that quick sew trouser patterns existed! I’m planning more iterations in solids for work.

 

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GBSB casual trousers

  1. Lynsey says:

    Lovely trousers, fab funky print and fit really well. I’ve not yet sewn trousers but this looks like a good starting point.

  2. Kathryn says:

    These look so good and, as I said on Instagram, I’m planning the same make, with the same fabric! I hope mine look as good as yours! I’m tempted to add pockets but I’m not sure it would work in this light fabric without pulling them down too much?

Leave a Reply

