GBSB woven shift dress v.2

SAM_6618

Recently I’ve been re-visiting patterns soon after my first make as it’s easier to fix any design or fit issues whilst construction is still fresh. If I go back to a pattern after a few months, I’ve usually forgotten if changes were needed.

SAM_6623

For my second GBSB woven shift I scooped out the neckline and used some bias binding to finish it rather than the suggested facing. I also lengthened the dress as my original alteration was a bit on the short side. I still found sewing the hem tricky. The pattern uses bias to finish the hem which splits at the side seam. Getting the bias tape to merge into the side seam is fiddly and involves a bit of hand sewing. I top stitched my hem and chalked my stitch line at the side seam to get a nice finish. The print is lighter than my first iteration so any wonky top stitching would show.

SAM_6622

I used a cotton poplin that had been in my stash a while. I love this abstract print and have been saving it for a shift dress. The cotton has just the right amount of body and is the perfect weight for a summer dress. I’m obsessed with shift dresses at the moment. They are so easy to wear and can be smart or casual depending on fabric choice. There’s the added bonus of not being restricted around the tummy area.

SAM_6625

This dress came together really quickly and is perfect for stash busting. Expect to see more iterations on this blog.

 

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GBSB woven shift dress v.2

  1. Wow this is lovely. Totally with you on shift dresses, I am not a fan of anything tight around my middle. And you are perfectly right about doing alterations whilst fresh in the memory. I am trying to get in the habit of leaving myself notes! Enjoy wearing your new dress, looks great.

  2. what lovely fabric, and you’ve made it up beautifully.

Leave a Reply

