Linden sweatshirt wins

Not to be defeated by my recent Linden fail, I jumped straight into making more. Thankfully my second and third iterations turned out much better than my first.

SAM_6535

The blue Linden is made from some textured  jersey I found at the Knitting and Stitch show last year. It’s from Simply Fabrics and was a bargain at £5 for generous end of roll metre. SAM_6538

I cut the neck band, cuffs and hem band out of self fabric for a smarter look. As the fabric behaved more like a ponte, I had to stretch out the neck band to make it fit the neck opening. If you’re using a fabric that doesn’t have the requisite stretch it, I’d recommend adding a bit extra to the length of the neck band.

SAM_6536

I sewed a size 6 again and made a few minor changes. I tweaked the pattern slightly and shortened the cuffs by 2 cms as I wanted a nice sleek sleeve. I also added about 1.5cm to the neckband and sewed a 1cm seam allowance to have a slightly wider neckband. I love how this turned out and have worn it several times to the office. It’s super snug as there’s polyester in there somewhere. This is definitely a wardrobe staple.

SAM_6579

My third Linden is made from a fun bicycle terry I picked up at the Textile Centre in Walthamstow. I love this place, you can find some real treasures here. This time I used a contrast ribbing to break up the print. The only change I made to the pattern was to shorten the neckband slightly as it had a lot of stretch. I think the bicycles are a bit hard on the eyes and if I made this again, I’d use a plain jersey for the sleeves. However it’s a super comfy top and the Linden pattern has converted me to sweatshirts. Who knew that they’re perfect for lounge wear. I have plans to make an applique version. I’m gonna make a wardrobe full of Lindens.

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Linden sweatshirt wins

  1. Femke says:

    I love that bicycle terry! I’m definitely going to try and find it somewhere online!

  2. These are great. It’s such a comfy top and perfect for this time of year. The bike print is so fun.

  3. Julie says:

    Aha, that famous adage, 2nd and 3rd times a charm! These are both lovely but that bike print is so sweet.

Leave a Reply

