Sewing hits – Top 5

I look forward to reading all the end of year round ups and without further ado, here are my Top 5.

SAM_5307

# 1 – Gerard Coat

It’s my second winter wearing this coat and even now I marvel at the fact that I made a coat. I never thought my sewing skills would reach the dizzy heights of coat making and I found the whole experience extremely enjoyable. So many processes and new techniques and a coat taking shape miraculously before my eyes.

SAM_5389

#2 – Simplicity 2451

I love the happy colours of this skirt. The fabric came from a sofa throw found in a charity shop.

SAM_5461

#3 – Simplicity 2418 Cowl top

This has become a work staple, I wear it quite a lot! So glad I finished this UFO that was cluttering up the house earlier in the year.

SAM_6444

#4 – Sew Over It Ultimate trousers

Because I finally tackled my trouser nemesis.

SAM_6509

#5 – GBSB shift dress [from Book 3, Fashion with Fabric]

My last make of the year (in the blog queue). I’ve been meaning to make a shift dress and this one turned out exactly as I imagined. Love the fabric and the curved hem.

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sewing hits – Top 5

  1. What a lovely selection! The trousers really caught my eye, and it’s great to see something made up from the GBSB book as they rarely seem to come up! Happy sewing for 2016.

    • Thanks, I enjoyed reading your round up too. One of my goals is to make more things from my sewing books. They tend to get overlooked but there are some great patterns out there.

  2. Amazing makes, I particularly like the cowl neck top. Happy new year.

  3. Kathryn says:

    What a great top 5! I particularly love your Gerard coat – what a sense of achievement that must be! I’m looking forward to reading your post on the shift dress as I just got that book for Christmas and really fancied the shift dress.

    • Cheers, it was a real labour of love making that coat. I’d like to make another one as it took ages to trace and add s/a. Seems a waste not to use it again. Shift dress post coming soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

