FO: Lisette Portfolio top hack

SAM_6503

This is another variation of the Lisette Portfolio top. I’ve made it twice before, here and here. For this iteration, I re-drafted the front bodice piece so it could be cut as one piece on fold. I did the same with the back and left out the back opening. I decided to leave out the neck band because it didn’t fit my bodice pieces (er, not sure what went wrong there) and I didn’t have enough fabric to re-cut. So to finish the neck line, I added some bias binding bought from La Droguerie in France.

SAM_6502

If you’re heading to France and happen to be near one of their stores, you’re in for a treat. La Droguerie stocks some fab fabric and the haberdashery displays are a wonder. The bias is lovely and soft and not like the usual cardboard stuff. La Droguerie also stocks Liberty bias tape at a fraction of what you’d pay here.

SAM_6505

I used some white dobby that had been in my stash a while. It’s completely see-through so the top is underlined with cotton lawn. Underling gives the fabric a lovely handle.

SAM_6506

I know this little top is going to be in constant rotation. I love wearing white, it goes with everything. Note to self, must make more white tops!

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FO: Lisette Portfolio top hack

  1. This is great, love the simplicity of it. The fabric looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

