FO: Plantain no. 5

SAM_6069

I think I’ve made more iterations of this pattern than any other pattern. You probably recognise the Plantain tee from Deer and Doe and have sewn one up already.  If you haven’t why not! It’s an essential wardrobe basic and it’s free. This time round I sewed all the seams on my overlocker, using my sewing machine just for the neckband and hems. As a result it’s a bit roomier than my other Plantains, so I think I’ll go back to my machine to get the right seam allowance.

SAM_6065

It’s taken five of these tops for me to realise I’d prefer it to be more fitted around the hip area. Deer and Doe patterns cater for pear shapes so there is extra ease around the hip. I’d like to wear this tucked in so I’ll shave a bit off the side seams for make number six.

SAM_6067

The fabric is the last of the jersey I bought in Berlin. I love the soft dove grey colour and funky star print. What’s your most sewn pattern?

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FO: Plantain no. 5

  1. The Plantain is definitely my favourite tee pattern and I love you starry fabric. One of my last ones came up quite large but the fabric had a lot of stretch and little recovery so it was a little baggy!

Leave a Reply

