Made up initiative -70’s dress re-fashion

SAM_6105

I chose to re-fashion an old dress of my mum’s for my Made Up Initiative pledge. She’d given it to me last Christmas and I had a vague idea that it could be a skirt. I’m dead chuffed with how this turned out as I was a bit dubious about the purple wool brocade. But often something magical happens when needle and thread come together and I absolutely love this little skirt. Here’s what it looked like before. Talk about top to toe coverage, it came down to Mum’s ankles!

SAM_5362

The dress is something she had custom made and the innards are skilfully hand finished. There is a lot of hand sewing going on.

SAM_5368

Arm hole binding

SAM_5366

Neckband facing

SAM_5367

Underlining

I cut a front and back piece for the skirt, loosely basing it around a rub off pattern I’d made for this skirt and sewed up the side seams. I added darts to the back as the front piece fitted ok. I then fitted the skirt again, taking in a bit more around the side seams. Although the skirt is wool, I didn’t need to add lining as the dress was completely underlined.

SAM_6104

SAM_6107

I decided to add a piece of ribbon to face the waistband, as this reduced bulk and did away with having an itchy wool facing against the skin.

SAM_6110

I arranged the pattern so I could make use of the original hem which is nice and deep. In keeping with the vintage theme, I inserted a hand picked lapped zip.

SAM_6102

SAM_6108

The fabric is made of woven purple, violet and orange threads. It also has silver metallic threads running through it too. I wasn’t sure about the pattern or the colours but it’s grown on me. It’s a skirt I’ll be wearing a lot this autumn. It’s been fun taking part in this challenge and I hope Karen raises lots of money for the National Literacy Trust.

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing, vintage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Made up initiative -70’s dress re-fashion

  1. kathryn says:

    wow that is some coverage on the original dress, and what beautfiul hand-sewing! That fabric is gorgeous and I imagine it will be perfect for Autumn.

Leave a Reply

