Lucy toddler dress Compagnie-M

SAM_5503

Isn’t this dress adorable. I made this for the baby sister of the little miss who is getting the Red Rover dress so she wasn’t left out. The fabric is Liberty Tana Lawn, bought many moons ago. I have a dress made from this fabric and had quite a bit left. It’s such a pretty print, perfect for this little girls dress. This was a complete stash buster of a project as the shearing elastic, thread and buttons were all from my stash too. Isn’t it brilliant to be able to knock up a gift from notions and fabric that you already have.

SAM_5502

I used the Lucy dress pattern from Compagnie-M. The pattern came free with an issue of Love Sewing magazine. It’s a very simple pattern, basically two rectangles that you run some shearing through. This technique was new to me so I practised first and it’s quite easy. It’s really fun watching shearing develop, I want to do more. The results aren’t bad for a first attempt!

SAM_5501

I cut out the pattern for a 1 year old but the dress looked too long to me so I lopped 2 inches off at the hem. Fingers crossed it fits. The great thing about this pattern is that when she’s outgrown it, the ties can be cut off and voila, she can wear it as a skirt.

SAM_5500

I’m looking forward to gifting my dresses. It’s always better to give than receive, and more so when you’ve made the gift yourself. I leave you with a picture of my cherry tree. Have a lovely May bank holiday.

SAM_5505

This entry was posted in handmade, kids, Kids clothes week, Liberty, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lucy toddler dress Compagnie-M

  1. kathryn says:

    This is gorgeous! I’ve got a dress with shirring I love & wear loads in summer. I’ll need to have a go at making some of these for daughters of friends of mine.

Leave a Reply

