FO: Mexican oil cloth tote bag

SAM_5452

I had a long Easter break and spent some of my holiday finishing UFOs. This self drafted bag was one of them. I used a fabulous oil cloth bought from Kitsch Kitchen in Amsterdam a few years ago. If you like colour, kitsch and bright Mexican oil cloth, this shop is heaven. It’s one of my favourite shops in Amsterdam after the waffle shop.

SAM_5453

It was my first time sewing with oil cloth and my new machine didn’t fail me. I got away with using a standard foot and didn’t even need to put masking tape under it. I increased the stitch length and sewed a bit slower.

SAM_5458

Oil cloth tends to colour over time, especially on areas like bag handles. To get round this I backed the underside of my handles with gingham and folded it over to bind the edge.

SAM_5454

I also lined the bag as I wanted to add an inner zip pocket. I followed this excellent tutorial on the U-handbag web site and my pocket turned out rather well. It’s similar to sewing a bound buttonhole or welt pocket.

This bag is so cute and I adore the happy print. It will cheer me up when I go back to work this week.

This entry was posted in handmade, sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

