FO: Vintage red wrap skirt

SAM_5401

Here’s another UFO in the bag. The pattern is from Style, sew simple 2003.

SAM_3211 - Copy

I was making it for last years Vintage Pattern pledge but progress stopped when The Coat started and sucked up all my sewing energy. I’m aiming for 3 patterns again this year, though I do have an ambitious To-Sew list, so it’ll be a challenge.

SAM_5403

There’s not much to say about this except it’s super easy to make as there aren’t any zips involved. I like that it wraps at the back and it feels quite secure, so no wardrobe malfunctions. Red is a departure from my usual colour palette and I love it. The skirt looks great with my Breton plantain top. Note to self, must sew more solids! The fabric is a cheap as chips twill I bought from one of the shops in Walthamstow market. I hemmed the skirt with some bias binding in my stash. It looks cute peeking out from the back skirt panel.

SAM_5405

SAM_5406

Anyone else on a mission to sort out their UFO’s? It’s a bit like having a sewing spring clean.

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FO: Vintage red wrap skirt

  1. I love this skirt! You have chosen a beautiful fabric and the bias binding really gives it that vintage touch. Nice work!

  2. Kathryn says:

    This has a really nice shape to it & I love the colour. Looks great with that plantain too! I just made my first plantain, it’s a brilliant pattern isn’t it?!

  3. I love a simple little wrap skirt 🙂 I, surprisingly, don’t have a tonne of sewing wips but I do have a long list of things I actually need to start – better hop to it!

  4. Pingback: Top 5 misses | Pootle and make

Leave a Reply

