Liebster award!

liebsterblogaward

Earlier this year I was nominated for a Liebster award by Crafty Little Bugger and more recently by Sewcoordinated.  Thanks guys, I’ve been blogging for over a year now and it’s wonderful to get a bit of recognition for my random musings about sewing.

As part of the nomination you answer a few questions set by your nominator. I’ve gone with those set by Crafty Little Bugger. Sorry for the late response!

•Why do you sew and when did you start?

I bought a sewing machine to turn up trousers about 8 years ago. I’m 5′ 3” and RTW trousers are always way too long. I decided on a whim to take a beginners sewing class at Morley College and was hooked. I went on to do two more years of intermediate classes and have been sewing ever since. I’ve always liked making things with my hands and loved doing needlework classes. I hand-sewed a pyjama case, bag and apron in primary school. However my burgeoning sewing skills stopped when I went to secondary school, where the focus was on woodwork, lathes and drills in the brand new CDT room.

SAM_5178

Pyjama case made at school

I love the creativity I get from sewing and being able to make what I want to wear rather than relying on what’s in the high street. We’ve evolved into unthinking consumers and it’s so rewarding to have a skill that enables you to make something. I’m also a fussy shopper. I often won’t buy something simply because of a small detail, like a naff button or embellishment. I like having input into every detail of a garment.

•How do you get yourself out of a sewing rut?

I hit a long sewing rut after I stopped taking evening classes at Morley college. My sewing productivity hit a wall and I didn’t go near my machine for about 2 years. But then I discovered sewing blogs and they inspired me to start sewing again. Thank you Karen from ‘Did you make that’ for giving me my sewjo back. Nowadays I never make myself sew if I’m not in the mood as it’s a hobby and I want it to be enjoyable. I usually pick it up again soon enough.

•What’s your favourite make that you made for someone else?

I seldom sew clothes for other people, though I once made a silk Sorbetto for my sister. I do make lots of crafty presents for babies and my favourite make has to be the Itty Bitty baby dress. Not only is it incredibly cute, I made it from fabric in my stash and the prints came together perfectly.

•Where do you get your inspiration?

Mainly from other sewing blogs. I often see a finished garment and find myself clicking buy for a pattern that I once thought was meh. I don’t follow trends, so don’t bother with fashion magazines or blogs.

•What do you do if you get stuck in your making?

There’s so much advice out there in the sewing community with bloggers generously sharing their tips on construction and fit. If I do get stuck I do a bit of internet research. I’m in the middle of making my first coat and I’m googling ALOT. I also find indie patterns often have a sew-a-long or online tutorial on fit which gives you an big reason to go for them over the big 4 pattern companies.

•Are you a planner or do you just wing it?

Depends on what I’m making. If I think there might be an issue with the fit, I make a toile first. However if I see a short cut, I’ll take it. Sometimes it’s good to wing it. I made my jersey Disco Inferno top using a woven pattern and it turned out great.

SAM_4165

Studio 54, I’m ready for you!

•What’s your favourite fabric to sew with?

I guess it’s cotton with a nice print as that’s what I home in on when fabric shopping. I’m quite partial to Liberty Tana lawn, I can’t get enough of it. One day I’ll splurge out and make an entire dress out of tana lawn. I adore the queue for the zoo print.

•What do you do for fun besides making beautiful things?

Singing gives me a buzz. I also like trying out new restaurants and visiting exhibitions. I’m a Londoner so am spoilt for choice. It seems there’s a new restaurant opening every week. I’m looking forward to the Barbara Hepworth and Alexander McQueen exhibitions this year.

•Why did you start blogging?

I don’t know anyone who sews, so it’s great to way to engage with others who share my passion and show off what I’ve made.

•If you were an animal (other than a human), what animal would you be?

A cat. They’ve got it sussed.

I now nominate others for a Liebster. My nominations are, in no particular order:

Stitched up from the start

Sew South London

JoJoCoconut

Wear the ducky tie

Saturday night stitch

And your questions are:

1. Who or what got you into sewing?

2. Where do you buy most of your fabric?

3. What is your top sewing goal for 2015?

4. Name your favourite sewing blog

5. Why do you blog?

6. What’s your favourite sewing book?

7. Favourite place in the world

8. What are your other hobbies?

9. Sweet or savoury

10. Town or country

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Liebster award!

  1. Hila says:

    Oh wow! Thank you for nominating me! I enjoyed reading your post. I too love the Liberty Queue at the zoo, I bought it in the pink and also the blue (about a year ago now)! I am so scared to cut into it so its in my most treasured stash section waiting for when I ‘skill up’ 😉

    • You’re welcome hope you have a great year sewing lots of nice things. I know what you mean about having a collection of fabric that’s almost too precious to cut into.

  2. chuichoy says:

    Thanks so much for the nomination! The questions look fun. Your first answer made me laugh. 5’3″ sounds so tall to me already, I’m surprised RTW jeans are still too long for you. And the part about other bloggers making patterns look better than the pics on the envelope is so true. On that note, looking forward to the coat you’re working on!

    • You’re welcome. Actually the shops are better now. Zara trousers fit me now! I used to have to remove about a foot from the hem to be able to wear their trousers.

Leave a Reply

