Reflections on 2014 and goals

Aztec print plantain

Aztec print plantain

I had a productive sewing year with 18 makes. That’s 11 tops, 2 skirts, 1 jacket, 1 dress and 3 other items (a cushion, baby dress and hat). Phew! I think this was down to finally getting an overlocker and sewing knits (8 in total). To put this in perspective, I made 10 items last year. My top pattern of the year was the Plantain with 4 iterations.

cake

I also had my 1st Blogiversary in August 2014. I forgot to mention it on my blog as I was having an impromptu blogging break at the time. I see sewing and blogging as going together hand in hand and I’ll keep up with it. I also got nominated for two Liebster awards which was very exciting. The Q&A bit is on my to do list!

SAM_4066

NYLon 2014 – Getting ready for the official photo

I took part in two challenges, Me-Made-May 2014 and Marie’s Vintage Pattern Pledge. I completed the former, wearing handmade every day in May but was one short on my quota for the pattern pledge. I also went to two meet ups, NYLON and SewBrum. Both meet ups were a blast, it’s always fun meeting other sewists. I met a few international sewers at NYLON and finally made it beyond the dungeon that is the Birmingham NEC at SewBrum. I’ve been to Birmingham for work but have never seen the city itself. We ended the day at Guthrie and Ghani where I met Lauren from the Sewing Bee!

I achieved some of the goals I set for myself last year. I conquered my fear of sewing knits with Plantain and Renfrew sewing patterns. I used a lot of fabric from my stash, including this little number which is one of my favourite makes of last year.

SAM_3429

Itty bitty dress

I also revisited a few patterns, making this white seersucker top (Simplicity 2931) and this plaid Portfolio top from patterns I’d used before.

SAM_5130  SAM_5136

I didn’t quite achieve my goal of only buying new fabric after sewing 2 garments and added to my stash big time. I’m not kicking myself too much as some fabric buying opportunities are too good to pass by. However, I am running out of storage space so need to curb how much I buy.

My final goal was a biggie and it was to make a coat. I’ve been wanting to make the Gerard coat by RDC for ages. It’s a great first coat pattern. However, I didn’t think I’d start a coat in 2014 as I’d left it too late what with it being December. But after seeing Ginger Makes’ gorgeous version, I got the sellotape out and began sticking together the pdf pattern. That was Christmas week. I’ve been beavering away and now have this.

Gerard Coat - wip

Gerard Coat – wip

It’s not finished, but I will, fingers crossed have a coat for this winter, what with the English winter being never ending. So that’s very exciting.

My goals for 2015:

1. Sew a pair of trousers – if I can sew a coat, I can handle trousers right?

2. Sew a shift dress – a glaring omission in my wardrobe. I love wearing them, so why not sew one.

3. Tackle UFO’s – that includes a scarf that is taking 4 years+ to knit.

4. Sew a few smart tops – cos I need some.

5. Ration fabric purchases. If I see something reeaalllly nice, then I’ll make an exception and buy it but my mantra will be – if I’ve not got a specific project in mind, I need to step AWAY from the fabric.

This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reflections on 2014 and goals

  1. Beth says:

    Wow you’ve had such a great year! Your coat looks gorgeous, I’m looking forward to seeing it finished! Good luck with your goals, especially rashioning your fabric purchases!

    • Thanks, I’m glad I finally got round to starting it. It’s a long process but I’m enjoying taking my time with it. I’m thinking of making more coats in the future if I pull this one off.

  2. gingermakes says:

    Ahhhh, your Gerard is looking fabulous!!!!! And you’ve had a productive, fun year! I’m trying to ration fabric purchases, too, as loving fabric too much has my apartment overflowing with it! Terrible!

    • Yes more making and less buying this year. I’ve already outgrown the cupboard I bought to house my fabrics. Thanks for all your tips on the Gerard coat. I wouldn’t have a collar if it wasn’t for that YouTube link. How does she make a jacket so quick? It took me best part of a day to suss out the collar on my gerard.

  3. Kathryn says:

    Wow what successful year! That coat looks like it’s going to be gorgeous, the fabric is such a great colour. I’m totally in love with that simplicity top too – perfect summer top!

  4. Pingback: Back to sewing skool – Ultimate trousers at Sew over it | Pootle and make

Leave a Reply

