Love Sewing Magazine review

Love sewing magazine

I’m not a regular reader of craft or sewing magazines but thought I’d give Love Sewing a try. It’s just been launched and I was drawn to the dress on the cover of the first edition. So what did I think?

Love sewing loves

Love sewing loves

Love sewing is beautifully presented and is aimed at the modern dress maker. I think the content is spot on. There are topical interviews with Tilly Walnes, whose book Love at First Stitch, is flying off the shelves, a chat with May Martin from the Great British Sewing Bee, features on yummy new fabric collections, couture sewing techniques and a skills class on zips. I particularly liked the Love Sewing loves spread which featured all manner of sewing goodies and the make the look article on how to recreate designer cushions with suggested fabrics.

Make the look

There are plenty of inspirational projects that are split between dress making, alterations (how to shorten jeans), sewing for kids (see cute skirt below), quilting, accessories and home furnishings. The projects include construction photos and the instructions had the right amount of detail. What’s more the projects are achievable with simple craft projects for beginners to more ambitious projects like curtains for advanced sewers.

SAM_4047  Construction pages

The projects were the deal breaker for me as so many magazines include whimsical projects that you would never dream of spending your precious free sewing time on. I used to subscribe to Mollie Makes but cancelled my subscription shortly after. Whilst I loved the design and photography, there were far too many ads, not enough features and my reaction to many of their projects was WTF, who’d want to make that? I wanted more sewing projects, not felt donuts or miniature wool dogs.

Skills class  fabric

Love sewing does what it says on the tin. I was sold after reading the first issue and have taken out an annual subscription. Every issue comes with a free pattern and who doesn’t love a freebie. If you are lucky enough to get hold of issue one (I hear they are selling out fast) it comes with a 52 page Liberty project book, a free Simple Sew pdf pattern download of the dress on the cover and a fat quarter.

What sewing mags are you in to?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

