FO: Itty bitty baby dress

SAM_3422          SAM_3421Another friend is expecting and I’ve been busy making baby gifts. This bib and burp cloth set was made from some scraps left over from a baby quilt I made last year and is backed with winceyette.

SAM_3429

Front – Itty Bitty Dress

I also made an ickle dress. It’s the Itty bitty baby dress from Made by Rae. Isn’t it the cutest thing? I had planned to buy something from the Village Haberdashery’s scrumptious fabric collection but I was on a deadline so sourced everything from my stash. The bodice is made from a scrap of Liberty tana lawn and the skirt is quilting cotton that I had intended for a craft project. The two prints match perfectly and it’s great to shop from your stash for projects. Er, bit of a revelation in fact!

Back view

I heard the dress was tiny so played around enlarging the bodice on a photocopier. To accommodate the slightly enlarged bodice, I extended the width of the skirt by 1 inch and added homemade piping to the front. This was also a serendipitous stash match.

SAM_3431

SAM_3430

This is my first ever baby dress and I had lots of fun making this. It comes together so quickly and gets cuter with every stitch. I almost died when I finished the front. My friend is due in June and this little dress is perfect for summer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

