Vintage Pattern Pledge – McCalls 3618 1970s top

McCalls 3618 pattern

This is a 70’s pattern I picked up at a sewing meet up a few years ago. I really like the top but the sleeves are a bit puffy for my taste so I left them out. I cut this out last year way before I signed up to Marie’s Vintage Pattern Pledge and found it in my pile of UFOs a few weeks ago. The top is made from some poly cotton I had in my stash. It feels like lawn and is perfect for this summery top.

SAM_3404 - Copy

I shortened the bodice by 2 cms and took in both side seams by 0.5 cms as the finished top was a tad roomy. I like the front and back yoke of this top but it’s lost by the busy print. If I made it again with a similar print I’d add some piping. I failed to notice the lower back is made of 2 pattern pieces and not cut on the fold. This adds a pointless centre back seam going from the hem to the back yoke which requires finishing. Not sure why the pattern has this detail but I will cut the back on fold if I make this again.

SAM_3411 - Copy  SAM_3409 - Copy

Have you signed up to the Vintage Pattern Pledge? I pledged to make 3 vintage patterns so two more to go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vintage Pattern Pledge – McCalls 3618 1970s top

  1. What a pretty shirt! The front and back yoke are such an interesting detail and the idea to use piping sounds great to me too.

Leave a Reply

