Horrockses fashions

ftm-horrockses-338

I’m a big fan of Horrockses dresses and the Fashion and Textile Museum had an amazing exhibition of their swoon some dresses a few years ago. The prints are so exuberant and colourful, they just make me smile. I was drooling throughout wishing I could take some of the dresses away with me. My favourite dress in these photos from the exhibition is the green strappy dress. I think it’s decorated with fruit.

I’d love to make a dress in homage but while finding period patterns is relatively simple, sourcing the right fabric, especially the banded print is difficult. I think if anyone decided to reprint all these gorgeous fabrics there’d be plenty of sewists queuing round the block to score some with me at the front.

The Fashion and Textile Museum are doing a talk on this post war label in May and I’ve got my ticket. It’s during the day so it means taking time off especially as the talk also includes entrance to the Artist Textiles Picasso to Warhol exhibition that is currently on. I think there are places left as it’s still showing on their website. I can’t think of a nicer way to spend an afternoon, looking at vintage dresses and gorgeous prints.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

