Back catalogue: Liberty skirt – Simplicity 2451

SAM_3328

Sunday 9th March was the warmest day of the year so far and Londoners came out in force to enjoy the weather.

SAM_3324

Sunday afternoon on Primrose Hill

Most of my warm weather clothes are still in storage but I found Simplicity 2451 lurking in my wardrobe. Yes, it was warm enough for bare legs and sandals, woo hoo and I was determined to make the most of it. It could be snow and sleet next week.

I made this skirt with some pretty Liberty Tana lawn bought from Goldhawk Road. I added yellow piping around the yoke and pockets to define the style lines and break up the busy print. It was my first go at piping and I followed the handy tips from Kestrel’s post here. There’s a bit of basting involved but the finished effect is so satisfying. I love how it pops out from the print. I lined my skirt with some cream cotton to give it more body as tana lawn has a delicate handle.

SAM_3388

SAM_3390           SAM_3389

I’d heard so many bloggers rave on about this pattern and I’m a convert too. It’s easy to put together, is well cut and has interesting design details. I love anything with pockets. This is my favourite skirt pattern to date. It seems we are heading out of winter over here. Yay, time for Spring/summer sewing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back catalogue: Liberty skirt – Simplicity 2451

  1. Kathryn says:

    wasn’t it a gorgeous weekend?! This is a lovely skirt, I really like your addition of the piping. I really need to make a few new skirts this summer too!

  2. Pingback: FO: From sofa throw to Simplicity 2451 | Pootle and make

Leave a Reply

