My mum’s scissors

Image

Not so long ago, everyone made stuff. My mum made clothes for me when I was a child. I have vague memories of her browsing for sewing patterns and being taken to John Lewis Oxford Street when the whole of the ground floor was devoted to fabric (alas no more). My favourite thing she made was a yellow gingham blouse which got passed down to my sisters. I always thought sewing was one of those pastimes an older generation did which went out of fashion. Little did I know I would be doing the same many years later. My mum doesn’t sew anymore but she kept her scissors which she passed on to me. This is a diary of my sewing life…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

